Hubay Prize 2024

19 January 2024

The Violin Sub-Department of the Liszt Ferenc Academy of Music announces a competition for BA III., MA I. and MA II. students, to be held on 9 April 2024. The winner will receive the Hubay Prize. The competition will take place at the Solti Hall.

The competition, which once was held every year, was revived in the 1970s by Dénes Kovács, on the model of the Reményi and Hubay Prizes.


Competition programme for the Hubay Prize:

One Hubay piece from the following:

  • Etude op. 64 no. 2
  • Etude op. 64 no. 5
  • Zephir (op. 30 no. 5)

J. S. Bach:

  • 3rd & 4th movements from the Solo Sonatas
  • two movements of different character from the partitas – except the Chaccone, BWV 1004 (in the B minor partita, the Double movements also have to be played)


  • Rondo in C major, K. 373
  • Rondo in B-flat major, K. 269


The opening movement of a competition piece from one of the following

  • Bartók: Violin Concerto No. 2, BB 117
  • Bartók: Violin Concerto No. 1, BB 48a (both movements)
  • Beethoven: Violin Concerto in D major, op. 61
  • Brahms: Violin Concerto in D major, op. 77
  • Csajkovszkij: Violin Concerto in D major, op. 35
  • Dvořák: Violin Concerto in A minor, op. 53
  • Glazunov: Violin Concerto in A minor, op. 82
  • Goldmark: Violin Concerto in A minor, op. 28
  • Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto in E minor, op. 64
  • Sibelius: Violin Concerto in D minor, op. 47



Please apply by 1 March 2024 on the application form below.


Online application is already closed