The two Hungarians not only played music, they were themselves the music – in every nerve – down to their fingertips.

Adelheid von Schorn on Reményi and Liszt

Eszter Fodor wins the Lukács Pál National Viola Competition

25 April 2022

After three years, the Strings Department of the Liszt Ferenc Academy of Music honoured the memory of Pál Lukács, violist and founder of the Hungarian higher viola education.

The jury of the competition, held on 23 and 24 April 2022, included former student of Pál Lukács, violist and teacher László Bársony, violist János Láposi, who is also a teacher at the Strings Department, composer Máté Balogh, senior lecturer at the  Music Theory Department and Kodály Institute, violist János Fejérvári, principal violist of the Hungarian Radio Symphony Orchestra and Mihály Várnagy, violist and former principal violist of the Franz Liszt Chamber Orchestra.


 The contestants and the jury (click on the picture to open a gallery)


Eszter Fodor, student of the Kunstuniversität Graz won the first prize, the second prize was shared by two students of the Liszt Ferenc Academy of Music, Barnabás Fülöp Görbicz, a student of the viola teacher training and Mevsim Engin, a student of MA I, and the third prize was given to Kinga Dauner, who graduated from the Liszt Academy last year and is currently studying at the Royal Academy in Copenhagen.

In addition to the podium prizes, the jury also awarded special prizes. The special prize of the Hungaroton was awarded to Dorina Anna Molnár, a student at the Liszt Academy, and the special prize of the Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest was awarded to Mevsim Engin for the best performance of Máté Balogh’s piece. Eszter Kalocsai, who graduated from Budapest in 2020, received a special prize from the Liszt Academy. In addition to the first prize, Eszter Fodor received a special prize from the Hungarian Radio and the Béla Bartók Memorial House, which will give her the opportunity to perform in a solo recital in the future.


 Eszter Fodor receives the first prize and the two special prizes from László Bársony, chairman of the jury (click on the picture to open a gallery)